Farm solar case studies in Ireland
61 Irish farms with solar panels are listed here, with the system size, cost, grant and saving each one reported. The largest is Hickey's Home Farm (Gerard Hickey) at 380 kW. The middle system is 30 kW. 33 farms published what it cost or saved.
What have Irish farms saved with solar panels?
- Hickey's Home Farm (Gerard Hickey)380 kW
- Cost
- €380,000
- Grant
- LEADER 50%, €190,000
- Share of use
- 231,000 kWh of 813,000 kWh yard use in 2025
- Payback
- Three years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- O'Shea Farms, Piltown250 kW
- Cost
- €287,500 project (Interreg Europe summary, snippet only)
- Grant
- SEAI Better Energy Communities (20% per Interreg Europe summary)
- Saving
- About €19,000 a year actual, against a forecast €25,000
- Share of use
- About 10% of the business's energy
- Payback
- 10 to 11 years actual, against a forecast of seven to eight years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Belview Eggs (Dermot and Nicola Herlihy)100 kW
- Grant
- TAMS (amount not stated)
- Payback
- 5 years
Source: OHK Energy
- Carrickboy farm (Donal and Dermot Brady), Ardagh100 kW
- Cost
- Over €100,000
- Grant
- SEAI Better Energy Communities 30%
- Share of use
- Up to 80% of needs on a sunny day
- Payback
- About five years (Local Power calculation)
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Nigel Flynn, Clones74 kW
- Cost
- About €45,000 in 2019; about €30,000 for the 2024 expansion
- Grant
- SEAI Better Energy Communities about 30% (2019); TAMS Solar Capital Investment Scheme (2024)
- Share of use
- Bills down about 30%
- Payback
- First system three years; expansion estimated at two and a half years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Laurlstown Farm (Donal Callery)63 kW
- Saving
- Around €16,000 a year
Source: FarmGen
Show 27 more farms
- Unnamed Cork farm62 kW
- Grant
- TAMS 3 60%
- Saving
- €13,175 a year at current unit cost
Source: SolarCo
- Michael Callan, Dunleer60 kW
- Payback
- 5.5 years
Source: Agriland
- John and Una Dolan, Fardrum50 kW
- Cost
- €60,000 plus VAT, no grant
- Grant
- No grant
- Share of use
- Target of a 30% cut in the electricity bill
- Payback
- About five years
Source: Teagasc
- Ted O'Sullivan, Bansha40 kW
- Cost
- About €65,000 overall
- Grant
- TAMS Solar PV grant (amount not stated)
- Share of use
- Savings of 92% after six weeks (early summer snapshot)
- Payback
- Two to three years
Source: Agriland
- Kehoe's Ketripack40 kW
- Grant
- SEAI Better Energy Communities (30% per search summary)
- Saving
- €11,340 a year (search summary; solar and lighting combined)
- Fitzgerald family farm, Castlegregory33.3 kW
- Grant
- TAMS 3 60% on the farm system
- Share of use
- About 60% of farm consumption in July 2026
- Payback
- Under three years (projected)
Source: ProSolar
- Fergal and Amy Coughlan, Innishannon32.4 kW
- Cost
- €50,000 before grant; €15,310 after TAMS grant and accelerated capital allowance
- Grant
- TAMS 60%, €30,000
- Saving
- €6,500 a year
- Share of use
- 85% of electricity usage
- Payback
- 2.4 years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Andrew and Daniel McHugh27.7 kW
- Cost
- Around €24,000 after grants
- Grant
- TAMS 60% on panels and on batteries up to half the PV size
- Saving
- €6,000 in the first year
- Payback
- Around four years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Richard Starrett23.5 kW
- Cost
- €15,525 for the 18 kW panels and 10 kW storage, with TAMS at 60% and VAT at 13.5% excluded
- Grant
- TAMS 60%
- Saving
- €4,436 a year (phase 2 projection)
- Payback
- Phase 1 four years; phase 2 projected 3.5 years
Source: Teagasc
- Brian Forde21.6 kW
- Grant
- TAMS, eligible for up to 60%
- Share of use
- 32% self-sufficiency; annual savings over 30%
- Payback
- 4.2 years (projected)
Source: Solgrid
- John and Rory McEvoy20 kW
- Cost
- €38,000, paid outright
- Share of use
- 34% of farm energy demand
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Hall Donnell, Ballymagorry20 kW
- Grant
- No grant
- Share of use
- 100% of farm and house use, with surplus sold
- Payback
- Within four years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- George Knipe, Battleford Road20 kW
- Grant
- No grant
- Share of use
- Expected to save approximately one third
- Payback
- Within five or six years (expected)
Source: MGMPR (press release)
- Jackie and Stephen Hamilton, Collone15 kW
- Cost
- £11,500 excluding VAT, no grant
- Grant
- No grant
- Saving
- £3,807 a year
- Share of use
- 12,775 kWh against farm use of 111,542 kWh a year
- Payback
- Just over three years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Joe Swayne, Ballon14.7 kW
- Grant
- TAMS
- Share of use
- 29.9% self-sufficiency
- Payback
- 2.2 years (modelled)
Source: Solgrid
- Shane Hegarty, Kilcock13.8 kW
- Cost
- €28,000
- Grant
- TAMS, €13,000
- Share of use
- Bills down about 74%
- Payback
- Under three years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Cathal Moran, Skeoughvosteen11 kW
- Cost
- €14,500 including inverter and buried cable, no grant
- Grant
- No grant
- Share of use
- 10% of farm use (July to December 2018)
- Payback
- Hypothetical only: 9.2 years with a 40% TAMS II grant, 8 years at 60%
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- PJ O'Halloran, Ballyheigue10.8 kW
- Saving
- €3,166 a year from solar
- Share of use
- Bill cut by 71% including a supplier switch; a later article gives 57% from solar only
- Payback
- Five years
Source: Agriland
- J & M Dairies (John and Marguerite Ryan), Gortnahoe9.5 kW
- Cost
- About €25,000
- Grant
- SEAI Better Energy Communities 30%
- Saving
- €1,889.76 a year
- Share of use
- About 40% of farm demand
Source: Interreg Europe
- Jonathan Fennell, near Carlow town7.4 kW
- Grant
- TAMS II 40%, plus accelerated capital allowance and VAT reclaim
- Payback
- Less than six years
Source: Agriland
- Douglas Kinkade6.5 kW
- Cost
- €11,000 for the first 21 panels (search summary, not confirmed in the text opened)
- Grant
- 30% grant plus tax relief
- Share of use
- Designed for about 30% of daytime electricity needs
Source: Agriland
- Ticey Allen, Newport6.1 kW
- Cost
- €10,000 including VAT before grant; €6,000 after grant
- Grant
- TAMS 40%
- Saving
- About €900 a year (expected)
- Payback
- About 6.6 years
Source: Irish Farmers Journal
- Duniry Farm (Ambrose Hodgins)5.7 kW
- Share of use
- Electricity bill saving of 31%
- Payback
- 6 years
Source: Solgrid
- David Foran
- Share of use
- Half of total electricity consumption in 2020
- Payback
- Within 5 years (farmer's expectation)
Source: Sunstream Energy
- Eddie, dairy farmer
- Grant
- TAMS 3
- Saving
- €7,259 a year (estimate, from search summary)
- Payback
- 3 years 5 months (estimate, from search summary)
Source: Agriland
- Kilbrew Stables (Lynch)
- Cost
- House system €11,200, paid €9,400 after subsidy; yard system €10,937, paid €8,600 after subsidy
- Grant
- Subsidy of €1,800 (house) and €2,337 (yard); scheme not named
Source: The Irish Field
- Knockfee Farm
- Share of use
- 50% of daytime usage
- Payback
- 4 years
These are the figures each farmer or installer gave. Some are measured from bills and some are estimates, and electricity prices differ between the years they were reported. Use them as a range, not a promise. For current prices see farm solar panel cost.
What size system do farms install, by farm type?
| Farm type | Farms listed | Smallest | Largest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dairy | 32 | 6 kW | 63 kW |
| Dairy with pigs | 1 | 150 kW | 150 kW |
| Pig | 3 | 50 kW | 130 kW |
| Poultry | 7 | 20 kW | 100 kW |
| Tillage, potatoes and horticulture | 9 | 15 kW | 380 kW |
| Beef, drystock and mixed | 2 | 5.7 kW | 33.3 kW |
| On-farm food business | 1 | 299.7 kW | 299.7 kW |
| Equine | 1 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Other or type not stated | 5 | 8.7 kW | 100 kW |
- Dairy: Milking, cooling and water heating run twice a day, every day, so a dairy farm uses most of what its panels produce.
- Pig: Ventilation, heat lamps and feed systems run around the clock, which suits a large array.
- Poultry: Fans, lighting and feed lines run all day, and the long house roofs take many panels.
- Tillage, potatoes and horticulture: Cold stores and grain dryers are the big loads. Cold storage runs through summer, when panels produce most.
TAMS 3 pays 60% on systems up to 62 kWp. See farm solar grants for which grant fits which size.
What do farmers say about it?
- "savings of around €16,000 a year" Laurlstown Farm (Donal Callery), dairy (FarmGen)
- "half my total electricity consumption for the year" David Foran, Waterford, dairy (Sunstream Energy)
Which dairy farms have solar panels?
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laurlstown Farm (Donal Callery)450 cows | 63 kW + battery | PV Generation / FarmGen | FarmGen | |
| Michael Callan, Dunleer450 cows | Louth | 60 kW | AEI (Alternative Energy Ireland) | Agriland |
| John and Una Dolan, Fardrum400 cows | Westmeath | 50 kW + battery | Not named | Teagasc |
| Ted O'Sullivan, Bansha200 cows | Tipperary | 40 kW + battery | Home & Agri Energy | Agriland |
| Tom and Niamh McWalter, Milltown160 cows | Galway | 33.2 kW | WestQuay Energy | Agriland |
| Fergal and Amy Coughlan, Innishannon160 cows | Cork | 32.4 kW + battery | Home and Agri Energy | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Unnamed robotic milking farm | 30 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) | |
| Andrew and Daniel McHugh200 cows | Longford | 27.7 kW + battery | IFA / Bord Gáis Energy | Irish Farmers Journal |
Show 24 more dairy farms
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unnamed robotic dairy farm | 25 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) | |
| Richard Starrett | Donegal | 23.5 kW + battery | Not named | Teagasc |
| Brian Forde | Galway | 21.6 kW + battery | Solgrid | Solgrid |
| John and Rory McEvoy | Laois | 20 kW | PV Generation / FarmGen | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Hall Donnell, Ballymagorry110 cows | Tyrone (NI) | 20 kW | Not named | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Unnamed Westmeath dairy farm | Westmeath | 15 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Jackie and Stephen Hamilton, Collone245 cows | Armagh (NI) | 15 kW | Start Solar | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Shane Hegarty, Kilcock50 cows, plus about 30 calf-to-beef a year | Meath | 13.8 kW + battery | Local Power | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Cathal Moran, Skeoughvosteen320 cows | Kilkenny | 11 kW | Activ8 (for Elgin Energy) | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Liam Delaney, Portlaoise | Laois | 11 kW | AEI | Agriland |
| PJ O'Halloran, Ballyheigue52 or 55 cows | Kerry | 10.8 kW | Swyft Energy | Agriland |
| J & M Dairies (John and Marguerite Ryan), Gortnahoe130 cows | Tipperary | 9.5 kW + battery | Not named | Interreg Europe |
| Unnamed dairy farm | 9 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) | |
| Michael and Mary Purcell, Thurles | Tipperary | 7.5 kW + battery | Local Power | Agriland |
| Jonathan Fennell, near Carlow town120 cows, plus beef | Carlow | 7.4 kW + battery | AEI | Agriland |
| Douglas Kinkade110 cows | Cavan | 6.5 kW + battery | Local Power | Agriland |
| Ticey Allen, Newport124 cows | Tipperary | 6.1 kW + battery | KB Electrical | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Francis Nolan, Coolcullen130 cows | Kilkenny | 6 kW | FarmGen (Glanbia) | Agriland |
| David Foran | Waterford | 24 or 27 kW, ground-mounted | Sunstream Energy | Sunstream Energy |
| Pat Farrell | Waterford | 24 or 27 kW, ground-mounted | Sunstream Energy | Sunstream Energy |
| Eddie, dairy farmer | Tipperary | 33 panels, 10 kW inverter (kWp not stated) + battery | NuSolas Energy | Agriland |
| John Murphy, Dripsey | Cork | 32 panels, 6 kW inverter | IFA / Bord Gáis Energy pilot | Agriland |
| Conor DesmondAbout 130 cows | Cork | 68 panels (kWp not stated) + battery | Not named | Agriland |
| Amanda Mooney, Winter Milk Farm | Wicklow | 37 panels (kWp not stated) | PV Generation / FarmGen | PV Generation |
Which pig farms have solar panels?
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unnamed Wexford pig producer | Wexford | 130 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Carrickboy farm (Donal and Dermot Brady), Ardagh2,000 sows | Longford | 100 kW | Local Power | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Unnamed Kildare pig farm | Kildare | 50 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
Which poultry farms have solar panels?
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Belview Eggs (Dermot and Nicola Herlihy)140,000 hens | Louth | 100 kW | OHK Energy | OHK Energy |
| Nigel Flynn, Clones145,000 broilers | Monaghan | 74 kW + battery | Local Power | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Trevor, poultry farmer40,000 layers | 50 kW | Not named | Teagasc | |
| Unnamed NI poultry farm | Northern Ireland | 50 kW | Not named | Irish Farmers Journal |
| George Knipe, Battleford RoadThree poultry houses | Northern Ireland | 20 kW | Amber Green Solar | MGMPR (press release) |
| Robert McBride | Monaghan | Not stated | IFA / Bord Gáis Energy pilot | Agriland |
| Cumry Poultry Farm | Not stated | Local Power | Local Power |
Tillage, potato and horticulture farms with solar panels
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hickey's Home Farm (Gerard Hickey)Six 600-tonne cold stores | Louth | 380 kW | Local Power | Irish Farmers Journal |
| O'Shea Farms, PiltownPotato store for up to 12,500 t | Kilkenny | 250 kW | Solar Electric (now Pinergy) | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Unnamed cereal feed mill and farm | 150 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) | |
| Unnamed Meath horticultural farm | Meath | 60 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| James and Zita O'Keeffe | Meath | 50 kW | Not named | Teagasc |
| Kehoe's Ketripack | Wexford | 40 kW | Not named | ManagEnergy (European Commission) |
| Unnamed Waterford horticultural farm | Waterford | 30 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Unnamed Cork horticultural farm | Cork | 15 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Knockfee Farm | Tipperary | Not stated | SolarCo | SolarCo presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
Other farms with solar panels
| Farm | County | System | Installer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Killowen FarmOn-farm food business | 299.7 kW | Local Power | Local Power | |
| Hill Top Agri FarmsDairy with pigs | Cork | 150 kW | SolarCo | SolarCo presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Unnamed Wexford farmOther or type not stated | Wexford | 100 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Leahy Open FarmOther or type not stated | Cork | 70 kW | Local Power | Local Power presentation (hosted by Teagasc) |
| Unnamed Cork farmOther or type not stated | Cork | 62 kW | SolarCo | SolarCo |
| Fitzgerald family farm, CastlegregoryBeef, drystock and mixed | Kerry | 33.3 kW + battery | ProSolar | ProSolar |
| Joe Swayne, BallonOther or type not stated | Carlow | 14.7 kW + battery | Solgrid | Solgrid |
| Unnamed Connaught agricultural clientOther or type not stated | 8.7 kW | WestQuay Energy | WestQuay Energy | |
| Duniry Farm (Ambrose Hodgins)Beef, drystock and mixed | Galway | 5.7 kW | Solgrid | Solgrid |
| Kilbrew Stables (Lynch)Equine | Meath | 10 panels on stables, 10 on house + battery | Not named | The Irish Field |
How much do solar farms pay per acre to lease land?
Leasing land to a solar developer is a separate decision from putting panels on a shed. The developer builds a grid-scale solar farm and pays rent. The farm does not use the power.
| Rent | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Rent per acre, September 2026Quoted as "in the region of" this range, and rising, by Aidan Stakelum of Perigus Energy on 30 September 2026. | €1,200 to €1,300 per acre per year | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Rent per acre, December 2025Figure given by Solar Ireland, the industry body, on 10 December 2025. | €1,000 to €1,400 per acre per year | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Rent per hectare, July 2025 (full range)From A Solar Energy Guide for Dairy Farms, July 2025. The source gives the figure per hectare and does not convert it to acres. | €2,200 to €3,500 per hectare per year | Teagasc / MTU |
| Rent per hectare, July 2025 (more common range)The same guide says this narrower range "is more common". | €2,200 to €3,000 per hectare per year | Teagasc / MTU |
| Rent per acre, August 2023Figure given by Barry Caslin of Teagasc on 5 August 2023. | €800 to €1,200 per acre per year | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Rent per acre, earlier boom-era reportOlder Farmers Journal report with no date given. Snippet only; the page was not opened. | €1,000 to €1,500 per acre per year | Irish Farmers Journal |
| Teagasc worked example, 20-year leaseWorked example in the Teagasc guide showing the effect of income tax on lease income over 20 years. | €2,200 per hectare per year gives €44,000 per hectare, or €26,400 per hectare after 40% income tax | Teagasc / MTU |
| Maintenance incomeNot rent. A figure of around €200 per acre "was discussed" for some arrangements, reported on 30 September 2026. | Around €200 per acre | Irish Farmers Journal |
- These figures are for leasing land to utility-scale solar developers, which is a different proposition from an on-farm system.
- Lease length is given as "25 years or more" in the Teagasc guide and "around 40 years" in the Irish Farmers Journal on 30 September 2026.
- The option period is five years, extendable by five (Irish Farmers Journal, 30 September 2026).
- Rent is typically linked to inflation (Teagasc guide).
- Land take is about two hectares per MW (Teagasc guide).
- Panels cover about 40% of a site (Solar Ireland).
- Lease and option income is fully taxed with no expenses offset.
- Teagasc example: a 20-year lease at €2,200 per hectare gives €44,000 per hectare, or €26,400 per hectare after 40% income tax.
- Keeping panels on under 50% of the holding matters for agricultural relief and retirement relief (Teagasc guide).
- Barry Caslin of Teagasc: "You will probably lose about 30% of your entitlements on that land".
- A maintenance income of around €200 per acre was discussed for some arrangements (Irish Farmers Journal, 30 September 2026).
- Greenhills Dairies in Killeagh, Co. Cork (1,100 cows) agreed a 250 MW project with Ørsted, reported 19 March 2025. No rent was disclosed.
- The Teagasc rent figure is per hectare and the source did not convert it to a per-acre figure.
What does the planning register show for farms?
The national planning register holds 63 applications to 30 September 2026 for solar panels that supply a farm. Councils granted 59 and refused 1. 45 are on roofs and 12 are ground-mounted.
| Farm type in the application | Applications |
|---|---|
| Farm, type not stated | 32 |
| Dairy | 3 |
| Pig | 8 |
| Poultry | 7 |
| Equine | 5 |
| Mushroom and horticulture | 6 |
| Tillage and grain | 2 |
The number is small because solar on a farm building roof is usually exempt from planning. See the planning rules for farm buildings. The applications that name the farm or state a size:
| Farm | County | Size applied for | Status | Planning record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not namedMushroom and horticulture | Monaghan | 1000 kW | Granted | 2020, ref 20145 |
| Not namedFarm, type not stated | Cork | 500 kW | Awaiting decision | 2017, ref 17/5353 |
| Not namedFarm, type not stated | Cork | 500 kW | Granted | 2023, ref 23/6479 |
| Not namedFarm, type not stated | Cork | 500 kW | Invalid application | 2026, ref 26/2211 |
| Wellesley FarmFarm, type not stated | Limerick | 357 kW | Refused | 2025, ref 25105 |
| Lyons Estate Research FarmFarm, type not stated | Kildare | 250 kW | Granted | 2017, ref 17162 |
| Martinstown StudEquine | Limerick | 231.8 kW | Granted | 2025, ref 2560649 |
| Not namedFarm, type not stated | Longford | 100 kW | Granted | 2018, ref 1857 |
Show 11 more applications
| Farm | County | Size applied for | Status | Planning record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not namedDairy | Meath | 100 kW | Granted | 2020, ref AA201849 |
| Not namedMushroom and horticulture | Tipperary | 43.2 kW | Granted | 2018, ref 18600425 |
| Not namedFarm, type not stated | Cork | 6 kW | Granted | 2020, ref 20/6595 |
| Hilltop FarmsFarm, type not stated | Cork | Not stated | Granted | 2016, ref 16/6506 |
| Glenilen FarmFarm, type not stated | Cork | Not stated | Granted | 2022, ref 22/603 |
| Ardenode StudEquine | Kildare | Not stated | Granted | 2021, ref 21442 |
| Monaghan MushroomsMushroom and horticulture | Kildare | Not stated | Granted | 2023, ref 23837 |
| Ravensdale NurseriesMushroom and horticulture | Louth | Not stated | Granted | 2026, ref 2689 |
| Woodridge StablesEquine | Meath | Not stated | Granted | 2022, ref 221664 |
| Grantstown NurseriesMushroom and horticulture | Waterford | Not stated | Granted | 2019, ref 19287 |
| Gigginstown House StudEquine | Westmeath | 196 panels | Built | 2022, ref 22427 |
"Granted" is permission to build. A scheme is shown as built only where a published report says so.
How was this list put together?
- Farms: taken from the farming press, Teagasc and installers' own case studies. Each row names its source.
- Figures: as reported. Nothing has been estimated or filled in where a source was silent.
- Planning: every application in the national planning register that mentions solar was read, and those supplying a farm were kept.
Data last reviewed October 2026. Installers are named as the source reports them.